2019 Scholarship Recipient Award Gala

Congratulations to 2019 Scholarship Winners

For the ninth consecutive year, the New Jersey Relocation Council, in conjunction with Worldwide ERC, presented four local New Jersey high school seniors with scholarships to the college of their choice.  It is through our Members and Sponsors, and with the support of WERC, that we have been able to award these amazing, determined, and successful young students with a grant to start their journeys into university. Our Scholarship Committee, under the guidance of the Community Outreach Chair, is asked to select college-bound high school seniors who have relocated during their high school years.  Committee members contacted high schools in 12 of the State’s counties seeking students who fit all of the criteria, namely -  have relocated a distance more than 50 miles, maintained a GPA of 3.0 or higher, participated in a range of extracurricular and scholastic activities, and shared their relocation story by writing a moving essay.   Many of the schools have participated in our program through the years, and look forward to hearing from NJRC for this scholarship opportunity for their seniors.

This year we broke last year's record in obtaining 39 eligible applicants from the 12 counties, and our Committee had the difficult task of selecting four winners.  They shared their stories with us through very thoughtful and insightful essays, which revealed the strength and determination that was hiding just below the struggles of relocation.  Each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship; three of these were made possible by NJRC; an additional $1,000 was awarded by The Foundation at Worldwide ERC. This year’s winners are: Liliana Rodriguez, Lisselo Santos, Lucy Adams, and David Wang.  The recipients and their family members joined us during our Spring 2019 Conference, held at The Park Avenue Club in Florham Park, NJ on 09 April. 

We thank these young adults for sharing their stories and encourage you to download their full essays linked below. Our Scholarship Committee is already looking forward to our 2020 program!

Liliana Rodriguez 

Lisselo Santos 

Lucy Adams 

David Wang

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software